Managing

I am trying to find ways to deal with all of the crazy , if you go by the list below I am in a revolving relapse every day! 😆

Common red flags for relapse
Warning signs of depression
  • I quit cooking meals.
  • I no longer want to be around people.
  • People bother me.
  • I crave chocolate.
  • I start having headaches.
  • I don’t care about anybody else.
  • I start needing more sleep, including naps during the day.
Warning signs of mania or hypomania
 

  • I can’t concentrate.
  • I find myself talking faster than usual.
  • I feel irritable.
  • I’m hungry all the time.
  • Friends tell me that I’m crabby.
  • I need to move around because I have more energy than usual.

1• Waking up and going to bed at the same time every day.

I have Been waking up 6:30 which gives me 30 min wake up time before my babies get up and demand of me, so far it has been 3 days of waking early, I feel capable of continuing but I am afraid if I sleep in one time I will fail to keep waking early….

2• Cut out caffeine

I make strong coffee which wakes me up very nicely, I love my Coffee and Energy drinks! The only thing is it’s not good for me… I either become very happy and energized or REALLY irritable *roll the dice!*
alcohol – what is referred as “self medicating ” by my Doctors
again roll the dice… but for the most part I would be very happy and upbeat! until the next day, then I usually felt sick, tired and depressed untill I drank again alcohol was the quickest “fix” a great band-aid, which makes it very difficult not to revert to the quick fix Caffeine is my “Safe” alternative !

3• Create structure in your life
Are you kiding me!? IMPOSIBLE for me

4• Monitor your symptoms and moods (Is that what I am doing right now?)🤔

In order to stay well, it’s important to be closely attuned to the way you feel. By the time obvious symptoms of mania or depression appear, it is often too late (its always to late for me lol) to intercept the mood swing, so keep a close watch for subtle changes in your mood, sleeping patterns, energy level, and thoughts. If you catch the problem early and act swiftly (Drink beer… *brain fart*), you may be able to prevent a minor mood change from turning into a full-blown episode of mania or depression.

Develop a wellness toolbox…. they say

If you spot any warning signs of mania or depression (Is rocking gack and forth smiling at the wall a sign???), it’s important to act swiftly. In such times, it’s helpful to have a wellness toolbox to draw from. A wellness toolbox consists of coping skills and activities you can do to maintain a stable mood or to get better when you’re feeling “off.” (Coo-Coo?)

The coping techniques that work best will be unique to your situation, symptoms, and preferences. It takes experimentation and time to find a winning strategy. However, many people with bipolar disorder have found the following tools to be helpful in reducing symptoms and maintaining wellness:

  • Talk to a supportive person  √
  • Get a full eight hours of sleep 
  • Cut back on your activities
  • Attend a support group 
  • Call your doctor or therapist 
  • Do something fun or creative, or write in your journal – Unmotivatedmost days
  • Take time for yourself to relax and unwind- Ha
  • Increase your exposure to light
  • Exercise –Uhhh being a mom?
  • Ask for extra help from loved ones –Uhhh…. I try, I hate to because its my problem
  • Cut back on sugar, alcohol, and caffeine – Alcohol… OK √
  • Increase or decrease the stimulation in your environment

 

 

Leave a comment